[Maia-users] Bayes_00 pain

Robert Hoekstra maia at hoekstra.nu
Thu Aug 24 05:21:19 PDT 2006


Hi,

Thank you for clearing this up.. I should have taken a bit more time to
read the wiki properly, I guess..

Awaiting FuzzyOCR results, I noticed that already two 'regular' spam
messages have been getting through in the last 24 hours. And again it hits
BAYES_00, like this:
BAYES_00(-2.599)
ADVANCE_FEE_1(0),
DEAR_FRIEND(1.632),
DNS_FROM_RFC_ABUSE(0.2),
HTML_IMAGE_ONLY_32(1.052),
HTML_MESSAGE(0.001),
SUBJ_ALL_CAPS(0.997)

All VERY spammy tags (to me), but yet the threshold isn't triggered. (Even
without BAYES_00 the required level of 5 wouldn't be triggered, it would
stick at 3.882).

Am I doing something wrong here? This mail would look very classic spam to
me, but apparently spamassassin doesn't think so.

For reference, the link to the mail I'm referring to:
http://www.hoekstra.nu/~robert/newspam.html (I've crippled the html image)

-- 
Thanks in advance,

Robert Hoekstra

> Robert Hoekstra wrote:
>
>> I noticed one thing though..:
>> running spamassassin -D --lint learnt me that subs of FuzzyOCR got
>> 'redefined'. While those are warnings, they aren't 'good'.. so I figured
>> that while FuzzyOCR is read, it parces the FuzzyOCR.cf, which itself
>> again loads the plugin FuzzyOCR..
>>
>> I disabled the 'loadplugin FuzzyOCR' from the FuzzyOCR.cf to get rid of
>> the message, and confirmed that the plugin still got loaded..
>>
>> Is this the best practice? Or shouldn't I have put the loadplugin line
>> in the v310.pre in the first case (eg. does spamassassin parse any cf
>> file it finds??).
>
> If you read the wiki instructions a bit more carefully, you'd see that
> in Step 10 there's a note:
>
> "Note: If there's a loadplugin line at the top of FuzzyOcr.cf, delete
> it; that line belongs elsewhere, as the next step explains."
>
> Basically the author of the FuzzyOCR plugin has been using a
> non-standard way of loading the plugin, and a number of us have been
> nagging him to do things properly, but he hasn't changed it yet.  Until
> he does, the wiki instructions will continue to "correct" it for him :)
>
> --
> Robert LeBlanc <rjl at renaissoft.com>
> Renaissoft, Inc.
> Maia Mailguard <http://www.maiamailguard.com/>
>
>




More information about the Maia-users mailing list